There is a God, but which one?

I mentioned in my other post that if there is no God then we are at a loss with our self-worth and identity. But then when you add God to the picture we may be thinking that this doesn’t work either –

God is silent and that I cannot possibly deny – everything in me calls for God and that I cannot forget… -– Jean-Paul Sartre

Either God is silent or he is a tyrant. A mean-spirited man in the clouds that rains wrath and cancer on people.

Or possibly a God that takes away our freedom, causes his followers to kill people and restricts our fun. And you look at religion and in some cases this can be true. I don’t want to worship or follow a silent, angry, tyrant god…And so Sartre may call out to God, but if he is silent how can we expect any answer?

Therefore how you view god is really important, Christian or not. When people start to say they don’t believe in a god that is… and then list lots of things, I wonder how many of those we can say match up to the god we believe in. Peter Mead writes:

In recent weeks I have had numerous conversations with people about this “which God?” subject. It has implications in how we evangelize those of different faiths.  It has implications in how we interact in our churches.  It really does make a difference which God we are speaking about.  Is it right to feel positive about a vague montheism involving a God defined in His substance apart from the Trinity?

A god that is not trinity cannot solve the problem of our self-worth and identity because the only identity he can give you is a slave and that adds nothing different to what the world is doing. And therefore we can turn around and say I don’t like this god and do not want this god. But the god I want is the god that will give me worth, a secure identity, call me a son or daughter and place me in his care.

Are we not craving for this? Douglas Coupland says:

Now – here is my secret:
I tell it to you with an openness of heart that I doubt I shall ever achieve again, so I pray that you are in a quiet room as you hear these words. My secret is that I need God – that I am sick and can no longer make it alone. I need God to help me give, because I no longer seem to be capable of giving; to help me be kind, as I no longer seem capable of kindness; to help me love, as I seem beyond being able to love.”

I am telling you that you wont find this is in any other god than the trinity. Why is this? Because within the wonderful dance of the trinity we have the Father loving and caring for his Son through the Spirit and we have the Son loving and obeying the Father through the Spirit. This then is reflected to us, as we are hidden and caught up in the Son, the Father calls us Sons and Brides of the Son. He lavishes his grace and calls us a treasured people. We are not slaves but sons and we are not prostitutes or widows but we are brides. And thus through Jesus we begin to regain our identity, our ability to love, give, be kind because the Father loves us first, gave to us first and has been kind/gracious to us most of all.

One thought on “There is a God, but which one?

  1. Interesting….I also encountered people who believe in God but tells me “why should it be your God (Jesus)? I have my own…” they have a relative God. the challenge is how you can prove to them that there is a specific independent God that reveals himself and created us not the other way around, nice blog!!!!

Leave a Reply

