23 Days Left

23 Days to go and what am I looking forward to? Christmas presents? A day off with family? Yes but also something more… So you may look at the human race and think why? Why did the Father send his son to us to die considering we turn to idols and things that fade away. The place that gives me a glimpse of the Fathers heart in all of this is Hosea 2v16-20:

And in that day, declares the Lord, you will call me ‘My Husband,’ and no longer will you call me ‘My Baal.’ 17 For I will remove the names of the Baals from her mouth, and they shall be remembered by name no more. 18 And I will make for them a covenant on that day with the beasts of the field, the birds of the heavens, and the creeping things of the ground. And I will abolish the bow, the sword, and war from the land, and I will make you lie down in safety. 19 And I will betroth you to me forever. I will betroth you to me in righteousness and in justice, in steadfast love and in mercy. 20 I will betroth you to me in faithfulness. And you shall know the Lord.

Why? Because the church is a Bride and we are betrothed to the Son and all in love, mercy and faithfulness. We don’t deserve it. But soon we can call the Son our husband… ! There will be a wedding feast and so in 23 days time what am I looking forward to? Well the reminder of the Brides husband being born and a wedding feast to take place in the future. Just as I eat my turkey and stuffing, it reminds me of a better feast to come. (without sprouts I hope!)

Leave a Reply

