Books in 2011

In 2011 I read 25 books. A mix of Christian and Fiction.  Which looking at the list doesn’t seem much at all… Well I am hoping to improve that this year and read some more books. But first let me tell you my top 5 books (in no particular order) that I read in 2011:

 

1. The girl with the dragon tattoo – This book is so well written and gripping that I couldn’t put it down. It’s also very gruesome and hard to take at some points. But the story is terrific, with the protagonist being mysterious, disturbing and yet likeable. This is worth a read unless you are very faint hearted.

 

 

 

2. Long way east of Eden – I finally got round to reading this after its been on my shelf for ages! This is one of my favourite Christian books so far because it actually engages with culture and it engages really well with culture that I would happily give this book to a non-Christian friend. I love how Pete Lowman uses so many sources and quotes and string them all together to paint a picture of a society without God and that picture is increasingly becoming our reflection.

 

 

3. The Tipping Point – This is a great book about how society has trends and what causes them. It’s about how to make small things catch on and become big. It’s an interesting insight into how society works.

 

 

 

4. The time travellers wife – This is such a wonderful book and so clever! I just love how all the pieces fit together and following the lives of these two people. It is also heart breaking.

 

 

 

5. One Day – I really enjoyed this book with its funny conversations and the lives of two young people falling in love. Yet it is a tragic comedy and you can’t help but laugh and cry.

 

 

 

 

So what shall I read in 2012? Any suggestions?

5 thoughts on “Books in 2011

  1. If you want some thought-provoking fiction with an unusual narrative structure (as your enjoyment of the Time Traveller’s Wife might suggest) then you could try Cloud Atlas, by David Mitchell (no, not the comedian, but the Irish author). I’m also a big fan of Kazuo Ishiguro, and recommend his books “The Remains of the Day” and “Never Let Me Go” whenever I have a chance. On a Christian book front, my favourite book of 2011 was probably King’s Cross by Tim Keller.

    • Thank you Matthew! I have not heard of those books before but I shall look out for them. I do want to read the King’s Cross at some point, it is often quoted in church and sounds fantastic!

  2. Thanks for the recommendations. Some recent favourites of mine include The Prodigal God, You Can Change (amazing to use and work through with a friend or two), The Book Thief and Super Sad True Love Story (which is pretty intense I warn you). Have got a lot out of Spiritual Depression too.

    • Thanks Richard. I often see the book thief in charity shops and I never know whether to get it or not! What is it about? I may have to grab a copy next time I see it!

  3. Books in 2012 « Sunshine Lenses

Leave a Reply

