When you play the game of thrones…

you win or you die…

I have just finished reading this book and I loved it. Its action packed and fast paced. I would recommend it to those that enjoy any books by Robin Hobb, R.E.Fiest etc. But even if you are not into fantasy type books, I would still recommend it to you – its got a great story, which isn’t complicated but does have lots of twists and turns and moments of “NOOOO”…It may be over 800 pages long, but don’t let that put you off, it has chapters that are quite short which zoom you into the lives of different characters, whom you will either love or hate!

Sky produced the game of thrones series on TV which was good, but left out lots and added in way to much sex and nudity which most of it was not in the book (although there is some). But the series is still worth watching.

I am looking forward to reading the next book in the series. Has anyone else read this book? Did you enjoy it?

4 thoughts on “When you play the game of thrones…

  1. I read the first 2 or 3 books of this series before I became too ill to read books at all (4/5years ago). Fantasy has always been my favourite book genre but I could never decide whether I liked Game of Thrones etc. I was transfixed by them for a while but they’re a bit, well, ‘horrible’ is the word that comes to mind! And everybody dies! I know it’s meant to be realistic but I like happy endings too much. I haven’t watched the TV series – if it shows what’s in the books, then it’d be far too gory for me. Re fantasy books, I much preferred The Black Magician trilogy, The Age of Five series, The Wind on Fire trilogy, the Pendragon quartet and the Harry Potter series of course!

    • Thanks for your comment! Yeh I know what you mean, some of the stuff in Game of thrones is pretty horrible and they do show it in the TV series, perhaps more so. So it’s probably not something for you. I haven’t read the second book yet, I imagine that’s quite gory too! My favourite of all time are Discworld books!

Leave a Reply

