Offline and Unplugged

Last week I spent it in Scotland with some family and we hardly any signal, which was wonderful! Most days were spent with my mobile switched off and no internet access. I found this time to be a real blessing and it made me realise a few things, which I would like to share with you:

  • Not looking at my phone ever 5 min to see if I got a message meant I got to concentrate on the people and the place I was in. My full concentration was on them rather than on a tiny screen. It was a nice feeling.
  • I had more time to read some books and finish them in a week without any distractions from reading articles, blogs, twitter and facebook (which I do enjoy doing)
  • I wasn’t constantly communicating or being demanded to communicate back – it felt nice in a strange way. I couldn’t reply and I had no control over that, which meant I didn’t have to worry about it.
  • I enjoy on-line life, but I also enjoy being unplugged from it and just enjoying what’s here right  now in front of me. Which means I need to do this more often!
  • I felt like there was more space in my head to think about things rather than being cluttered with things I need to read and reply to.
  • I wouldn’t say I spent more time with God, because most of my tweets, blogging and blogs I read are about Him and I enjoy how that enriches my relationship with him, so it would be wrong for me to say on-line life is a separation from God because it’s not. But being unplugged meant I got to enjoy Him in a different way. Listening in silences, enjoying him on walks and looking at the landscape, enjoying him in community that’s face to face. It was just different.

Well those are just some of the things I really enjoyed and I really like Scotland. But now I am back, plugged in and ready to communicate.

Hello World.

Leave a Reply

