Feeling a little sluggish

I have been feeling rather sluggish on the blogging front lately. Not sure why, it might be something to do with the lack of sunshine and reading until my eyes pop out. So I am thinking of ways to be creative and I wrote into google “how to be creative”, clicked on the first link and the first thing it came up with was – “ignore everybody”…. so I ignored that link and went on to something else. I clicked on another link and it said I needed to eat with my hands and write songs to my pets… which seems rather messy with the Risotto we are having tonight and insane as I sing to the dog we don’t have…

Perhaps it’s not so much as having lack of ideas and creativeness, but just a a case of having a soggy teabag brain? I have been reading some Terry Pratchett’s Discworld books recently (I have been a fan for a long time) and came across an interesting quote by the character Death:

“Human beings make life so interesting. Do you know, that in a universe so full of wonders, they have managed to invent boredom.”

I am not sure how we can be bored. But we are and it causes restlessness. There are many wonders in the world, many things to do and see, but yet we can get bored very easily. Perhaps its the variety that causes that, a place of too much wonder and too much choice to see it and not enough of the mundane. I struggle with choice, when being faced with what to have for dinner in the next coming week I cannot decide, the amount of choice overwhelms me (just ask my husband, who is very patient!). But in a world where there is choice and instant everything all with its variation of the microwave *ping*, we can become expectant and overwhelmed. Well I can. I expect things to be instant, to be right there in front of me, to be 140 characters or accompanied with a comments section. And so when you come to a point where it all gangs up on you resulting in a soggy teabag brain, what can you do next?

1. Get out the house. Go for a walk. Breath fresh air and see real colours that aren’t pixels.

2. Drink coffee in cafe’s. Watch people. Draw people (Only the other week I realised someone was drawing me as I sat and read in a coffee shop – I wanted to make funny faces but instead I was too scared to move incase it ruined his drawing!)

3. See the creative works of others. Go to a Museum, an art gallery. Enjoy. Question. Ponder.

4. Seek being creative. Take your camera out and capture the world around you. Write poetry, draw, write stories. Cross stitch. Who cares if its rubbish, its yours and that’s all that matters.

To be honest I am more talking to myself and these are the things I need to do before the teabag brain slides out my left ear! But I hope it has helped you in some way too.

 

3 thoughts on “Feeling a little sluggish

  1. I’m not at the teabag-brain point yet, but I am all to familiar with the symptoms! Add ‘Find someone to have a chat with’ to your list and give me a ring!

Leave a Reply

