On Poetry

I love writing poetry. But I often forget that I love poetry because I go through a desert land of writing. Today however, I was reminded by a tweet from Tanya saying “because the world needs good poets” that I really enjoy writing poetry.

Writing poetry is a lot of fun and for me a opportunity to express my thoughts in a different way. It comes from loving words and sounds of words. For me to write poetry I like to hear how words sound together, how the tone is, how they shape the rest of the poem and how they bring to mind images and places.

“A poem begins as a lump in the throat, a sense of wrong, a homesickness, a lovesickness.”
Robert Frost

I like to read poetry as well. My favourite poets are Sylvia Plath, William Blake, William Yates and T.S.Eliot. I love poems that use imagery and can capture the audience, sucking them into the place and emotion the author is talking about.

“The night sky is only a sort of carbon paper,
Blueblack, with the much-poked periods of stars
Letting in the light, peephole after peephole—
A bonewhite light, like death, behind all things.”
Sylvia Plath (Selected Poems)

 

It’s a shame that we don’t tend to read or write much poetry now. It’s not a common medium we use to communicate. But Tanya is right, the world needs poets, to write poetry and read poetry because it’s a lot of fun!

What are your favourite poems/poets?

7 thoughts on “On Poetry

  1. I’d like to read more poetry, because I’m not sure I have any favourite poets due to my ignorance. Song lyrics are perhaps the closest I get – Jon Foreman (singer from Switchfoot) is a great poet in the way great lyricists often are.

    I love writing poetry myself though. Maybe it’s time to put some online…

  2. My favourite comment about poetry was from C. S. Lewis, less known as a poet, but a keen practitioner…

    “Poetry I take to the be the continual effort to bring language back to the actual.”

    Talking in the context of explaining how words are hopelessly inadequate for describing most things, especially those that are ‘most real’.

  3. Thank you for your comments!

    Matthew – I think it would be great if you put up some of your poetry! Switchfoot are brilliant, I really like them 🙂

    James – I love the quote, thank you! When are you coming back to blogging?

Leave a Reply

