The Glory of God

gloryflowerI just want to give glory to God” – this is often an honest and heart-felt statement from Christians. It’s coming from a place of surrender and desire to please God and do his will. Yet I often wonder what giving Glory to God means. I wonder what Glory means. I was looking on the Desiring God website and found a little snippet on what Glory means and they said:

“So God’s glory is the radiance of his holiness, the radiance of his manifold, infinitely worthy and valuable perfections.”

You have to ask yourself – who (rather than what?) is the radiance of his holiness? who is the radiance of his manifold, worthy perfections? Well Colossians 1v15 and Hebrews 1v3 says

    He is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn of all creation.
(Colossians 1:15 ESV)

He is the radiance of the glory of God and the exact imprint of his nature, and he upholds the universe by the word of his power. (Hebrews 1:3)

It seems that the radiance of Gods holiness and glory is Jesus. Jesus is the glory of the Father and the Father pours his love by his spirit into his son. It feels less abstract. Jesus is the Father’s Glory.

It’s really easy to see Glory as something of strength and power. It’s something of greatness and worth. When we say we want to give God glory I know that to mean – I want to be the best I can for God, I want to be strong for God and to give the best talk and be the best evangelist and work the hardest and serve the longest and in that I want to give all praise to Him. It feels like Glory is power and might and its something I must display to give God glory.

When I think about how Jesus glorifies the Father it actually happens at a place of weakness and hopelessness. It’s at a place of feebleness, pain and death. Jesus glorifies the Father at the cross – displaying to all the earth the Fathers love for his children and yet he displays it in utter weakness. Utter powerlessness. The stench of death fills the room, hope hangs and dies. Does that feel like glory to you? Is that what you had in  mind when you said “I want to glorify God?” Probably not.

I don’t think it’s an accident that Jesus goes to the weak, the poor and needy instead of the rich, powerful and pious . I don’t think that it’s an accident that throughout the history of the bible the Lord chooses men and women who are weak, messed up, stumble with their words and not the most clever of the bunch to lead others and share his good news instead of using the most clever, the most eloquent of speakers, the most popular and good-looking. Glory seems to come through weakness.

If you were to say to the Lord “I just want to glorify you” and then something happens in your life – you get cancer, you are housebound, you have depression, you are seriously ill and you are weak and you are helpless and needy. Would you still feel like you can glorify God? Or were you thinking that this glory was more about your abilities, strength and “best ofs”? What if God says that through your suffering you will glorify me more – would you believe Him?

It’s hard. It’s hard because the world says we should be the best and the strongest. The christian organisations say they want the best leaders and best evangelists.

But it seems that the Lord works his glory through suffering and weakness. He showed it on the cross most of all. The Glory of the Lord was broken, weak and bleeding but yet He shone out through that the love and beauty of the Father. I often find that those christians who are most suffering, who are most struggling and just clinging on in weakness taking each day at a time, they are the ones who most show me Gods glory. They are the ones who most show me Jesus.

Glory is about weakness not strength. So when you say, “I just want to glorify God” you may want to recognise that God may take you through a place of suffering and weakness for that to happen. Because it’s in that place that you will most likely be surrendering all to him and give him praise. Glory isn’t about power and might. Glory is Jesus, dying on the cross.

6 thoughts on “The Glory of God

  1. Hi Cat
    You’ve nailed it on the head. By being dependent, living from our Pappa God’s life, our Lord reflected His glory perfectly. In the same manner, as we live in our Lord Jesus in weakness and dependence, we allow Him to reflect His glory in and through us. We don’t have anything He needs, but He loves to love us, because He is love. Thanks for this thoughtful post!
    Much love
    Mia

    • Thanks Mia! Your so right, Jesus reflects his glory in and through us and more often then not its through our weakness 🙂 Thank you for your comment.

  2. Great post Cat! And wouldn’t it change things if, when I say “I want to glorify God” I was thinking “I want people to see Jesus – the Glory of God”?! Rather than being ashamed of all my weakness and inability, I could stop worrying about me and speak of my Jesus who is strong, who is able, and in his strength and ability loves the broken and needy. Nothing about me would have to get in the way of him being seen to be wonderful! …I think I so often don’t like this idea because it assumes that I’m not glorious…! I’d sometimes rather have the attention on me than God… ouch… thanks for getting us thinking and rejoicing in Jesus!

    • Thank Emily 🙂 Always a joy to hear your thoughts on my blog! I agree – we like to think of ourselves as glorious, but we are not – Its Jesus that makes us holy and glorious, there is nothing else in us that does this. We are jars of clay! The treasure is not us! Thanks Emily 🙂

  3. What I'm into (February 2013) | Thorns and Gold

  4. Collection of Webs: February – Sunshine Lenses

Leave a Reply

