Collection of Webs: May

I can’t believe it is June already! When did that happen? Well here is a monthly collection of webs where I share with you what I have been reading on blogs, articles, books and what I have been watching or listening to. If you have missed any collection of webs this year you can find them all on this page.

Blogs Posts from friends:

My friend Ali has been writing about “Transition”. She is leaving UCCF staff and her blog posts are reflecting on her 3 years as a staff worker. Here is one of my favourite posts on her series: Awkward Moments

James Watts has been writing a great little piece on the Screwtape letters, but it is his own version called: Screwtape proposes a toast

Tanya over at Thread writes about being a Couch Potato vs Workaholic. I found this very challenging and helpful!

Blog Posts Out There:

Andrew Wilson over at Think Theology writes about Feminism: Baby and Bathwater.

Paul Miller writes about his experience of being offline and without any internet for a whole year: When I left the internet I expected my journal entries to be something like, “I used a paper map today and it was hilarious!” or “Paper books? What are these!?” or “Does anyone have an offline copy of Wikipedia I can borrow?” That didn’t happen.

Wendy writes about Women and the OT: The Old Testament gets a bad rap among progressive Christians at times. Some refer to its texts revealing harsh treatment of women as “texts of terror.”

Books:

I have now finished reading Cloud Atlas. Which was a rather interesting read. At points I was rather confused, but in the end I have to say that it was well written and rather clever!

I have also finished reading Serving without Sinking which I have reviewed here.

I am now reading Blue Like Jazz. And I am still dipping in and out of War and Peace…which will take me ages to read.

In the Garden:

I have started a little blog series about our garden which you can check out here: Green Fingers #1, Green Fingers #2

Posts on my blog:

Church is a hospital: I wrote a guest post over at my church’s blog.

I reflected on Bank Holiday Monday – a bit of fun writing!

I wrote about M.E awareness week which I discovered produced a lot of thoughts and comments from people.

I wrote about a true story of healing and faith in my church.

What have you been up to this month?

Leave a Reply

