The Tenderness of Your Heavenly Father

Louisa_May_Alcott_headshot“My child, the troubles and temptations of your life are beginning, and may be many; but you can overcome and outlive them all if you learn to feel the strength and tenderness of your Heavenly Father as you do that of your earthly one. The more you love and trust Him, the nearer you will feel to Him, and the less you will depend on human power and wisdom. His love and care never tire or change, can never be taken from you, but may become the source of lifelong peace, happiness, and strength. Believe this heartily, and go to God with all your little cares, and hopes, and sins, and sorrows, as freely and confidingly as you come to your mother.”
— Louisa May Alcott (Little Women (Little Women, #1))

I read this quote and just thought it was wonderful. I find it so easy to worry about the future, whether that’s next week, next year or in 10 years. It’s easy for me to be tempted into anxiety and stay there until I feel sorry for myself. This little quote is a wonderful reminded that our Heavenly Father is tender towards us and the more we come to love him and trust him, the less we will want to depend on human wisdom and power. Because I know that my wisdom and power is nothing compared to his.

I love how Jesus always points us to the Father and he shows us that if the Father cares for little birds and flowers then he will care for us. There are times when I really don’t believe it and I act like he doesn’t care and he won’t provide. Yet the alternative is to rely only on myself and I just don’t really have that kind of control or energy.

The truth is that we can come to our Father with all our cares and worries and he will never send us away or be tired of us. Isn’t that good news? I feel like I need to hear that daily. My heart forgets because the world says that I can do it, that there is a hero inside myself and a self-help book on the shelf and sometimes I want to believe that more because it looks impressive and shiny. But it smells like death. Its tragic.

I need to hear that I have a caring heavenly Father who really does love me. Really does listen to me. Really does care. And he wont ever leave.

My prayer is that this will soak into our hearts.

Leave a Reply

