Transition

flowersI am about to enter a huge transition phase of my life. Things for me are changing, two of which are fairly huge – leaving my job and moving house.

Last year a friend of mine did several transition posts which helped her reflect on her time as a UCCF Staff Worker and also process what is happening next. I thought I would do the same. I am going to look at it all in three areas: past, present and future while thinking through some of the highlights and challenges that I have been through and some that I will face in the future.

What Ali wrote in her post was really helpful and I will use that as a template:

Things past….(think back on your time)
What have you done? Who have you met? What are you thankful for? Do you have any regrets? What have you learned? How have you grown and changed personally and spiritually? What have you loved? What have you struggled with?

 Things present…(think about the months left )
What people, places, situations do you need to say goodbye to? Who will you keep in touch with and how? What do you need to hold on to? What do you need to let go of? What will you miss? How are you feeling about leaving?

Things yet to come…(think about life after)
What are the next steps? What do you need to do before then? What things will be different? What will be the same? What are the uncertainties? What are your fears? Hopes?

My hope is that it will help me process and celebrate this transition and it will also give you an insight into the life of a UCCF staff worker as well as help you process things, incase you are also going through a time of change as well.

So over the next few months I will putting these posts up in and around other posts I will be writing. I very much welcome comments as I write these posts. Thank you!

7 thoughts on “Transition

  1. Hey Cat, I’ve been thinking about doing this too, and you’ve inspired me! Looking forward to hearing what you’ve learned!

  2. Looking forward to these posts. Those questions are good… Am feeling pretty terrified about transitioning out of Falmouth, so although I’ll find those questions hard as it means facing up to it, I would imagine they would help me too! Really great idea Cat! (/Ali!)

Leave a Reply

